Gallery

Meeting our mentors

Gordon Skhosana

Gordon Skhosana

Where and what are you studying?
Studying B.Com (Quantitative Finance) at UCT.
Which club are you linked up with?
Rhodes High School.
What inspires you?
The innovative nature of the world we live in inspires me. It inspires me to do more, be more and achieve more, to never stop and feel complacent.
What are the benefits for you to be a Project 90 Leadership Club Mentor?
It helps me get more involved with environmentally friendly initiatives which will help expand my knowledge on issues pertaining to conservation. It also allows me to engage with people from other communities and different backgrounds, thus exposing me to experiences I wouldn’t normally have in my everyday life.
Are you part of other organisations related to the environment?
I am part of Green Campus Initiative (GCI). I am a societies coordinator, and I get societies involved in events that GCI hosts.
As a Project 90 Club Mentor how do you see yourself as a leader?
I see myself as a leader as I am involved in helping the club chart a course for their projects this year and I’m responsible for keeping them on track until our mission is accomplished.

Mikhayla Bader

Mikhayla Bader

Where and what are you studying?
I am studying a BCom Economics with Environmental and Geographical Science at the University of Cape Town.
Which club are you linked up with?
Somerset College.
What inspires you?
Nature inspires me. Any time spent outside I feel rejuvenated and ready for anything. The beauty of nature around me also drives me to do my bit to preserve it!
Why did you choose to be part of Project 90 Leadership Clubs as a mentor?
I think that Project 90 is an awesome initiative doing real good for not only the environment but the people in communities of South Africa. I wanted to join the organisation to be able to contribute any skills I have and also to learn and grow as much as possible. Being a mentor means I get to work with fellow young, enthusiastic individuals who are working towards making us the green generation!
Have you attended activities organised by the Club and the Project 90 team?
I have attended a Clubs Summit as well as a mentor workshop. I thought they were both well organised and fairly well attended. I left with a clear idea of what being a mentor entails and a better grasp of Project 90’s mission.
What are the benefits for you to be a Project 90 Leadership Club Mentor?
Meeting like minded young people who have a similar passion to make a difference. Being a mentor gives one experience in working with a nationally recognised organisation and allows you to grow as a leader. Working with and shaping the ideas of school children around Cape Town is extremely exciting and the opportunity to learn and be party of innovation is a huge benefit!
As a Project 90 Club Mentor how do you see yourself as a leader?
Definitely, being a mentor you are a leader for your club but you are also nurturing and encouraging leadership amongst the members of your clubs.
In your personal life are you taking action to reduce your personal carbon footprint?
Yes, in my personal life I do my best to be aware of my carbon footprint all the time. I try to reduce the amount of waste I generate by reusing as much as possible and making sure to recycle any waste. I carpool to university and have been a vegetarian for three years.
Are you part of other organisations related to the environment?
I am part of the Green Campus Initiative (GCI) at UCT where I am a committee member and take responsibility in helping students get involved in outreach programmes such as the Project 90 Leadership Club.

 Hilda Chisamba

Hilda Chisamba

Where and what are you studying?
B-Tech Nature Conservation at Cape Peninsula University of Technology.
Why did you choose to be part of Project 90 Leadership Clubs
as a mentor?
To grow as a person, to inspire and encourage other young scholars about conservation, to be part of activities that reduce the carbon footprint, and to be part of the solution.
Which club are you linked up with?
Springfield Convent Eco Club.
What inspires you?
Nature is my inspiration.
What are the benefits for you to be a Project 90 Leadership Club Mentor?
Experience, exposure and growth as a leader.
As a Project 90 Club Mentor how do you see yourself as a leader?
I take initiative to learn new skills and experiences. I am understanding however very environment biased or oriented. I am ready to take up challenges
In your personal life are you taking action to reduce your personal carbon footprint?
Yes I try to make the right decisions when it comes to my footprint.
Are you part of other organisations related to the environment? If yes what is your role in these organisations?
Yes, tutoring is another one of my roles.

Leave a Reply

