Gallery

We say farewell to Kathryn

Katheryn Maguire enjoying her time with us in Cape Town

Kathryn Maguire enjoying her time with us in Cape Town

The past three months have come and gone in the blink of an eye, and even though the time has gone by quickly, what I have learnt and the experiences I have had have been immense. During my time at Project 90 I was involved in many activities: from attending the YouLead-Collective’s annual retreat, to being part of the team to research and create low-cost cooking insulation units. Through these many experiences I have met people with diverse backgrounds from around South Africa – who have all come together to work towards a united goal; to change the way we engage with our environment.

I have learnt so much from these individuals, and have seen firsthand, that anyone is capable of making a difference in their own way if they possess the desire – regardless of status or formal education.

katheryn 2

Going on a hike up Table Mountain

Seeing climate change from the perspective of a developing country has been eye opening; the need to control our growing carbon footprint and build infrastructure at the same time is a balancing act I had little knowledge of, or experience with. I now feel I have a much broader perspective on the issue of climate change than many of my peers in the United States, and I look forward to sharing what I have learnt with them.

 

My journey in South Africa began three months ago. The people I have met during my time here, specifically those through Project 90, have been truly inspirational. Being around such passionate people has rejuvenated my own passion and I cannot wait to see where it takes me. Though I’m quietly hoping it will take me back to Cape Town!

Kathryn Maguire – volunteer

 

Leave a Reply

