Gallery

Project 90 Household Tool helped me save over R1,700 per month

There are many ways to cut carbon in your home

Our home is the first place we can begin doing what’s best for us, and what’s best for the planet. Our households are the starting point for consumption of resources. Every decision we make at home has a ripple effect to the other sectors of the economy. The best place to start making a difference is with the habits we form and the choices we make within our homes. By making simple changes we can not only do the right thing, but we can save money when we sustainably change the way we consume energy, water and produce waste.

I logged on to Project 90’s Household tool  and took a virtual tour of my house. In each room I could choose which actions I would like to commit to taking,  in order to reduce my carbon footprint. If I wasn’t ready to take an action now, I could choose to do it later. At the end of the tour (it took around 15 minutes to complete) I got a personalised action plan emailed to me so that I could be reminded of what I committed to do.
My total savings will be
• Energy: 1608 kWh per month.
• Water: 9300 litres per month.
• Cost: 1728 Rands per month.
• CO2: 1634 tonnes per month

These are pretty impressive savings don’t you think! And I have the potential to save even more once I commit to all the actions in a few months’ time.

Here are a few examples from my own action plan: most of the actions will cost nothing and I can start doing  them immediately.
Bedroom
• Replace incandescent light bulbs (x4 @40W) with 11W CFL light bulbs.
• Put an extra blanket on instead of using electric blanket.
Study
• Set desktop computers to hibernation mode if idle for 30 minutes or more.
• Unplug cell phone chargers when not in use.
• Switch off printers when not in use.
Bathroom
• Fix dripping hot water tap.
• Replace showerhead with low-flow showerhead.
• Place HIPPO bag in toilet cistern
• Choose to have a short shower instead of a bath.
Kitchen
• Use the microwave for cooking instead of the oven.
• If replacing electric oven/stove look into investing in a gas oven/stove.
• Defrost food in fridge overnight instead of the microwave.
• Match pot size with stove plate size.
Lounge
• Switching off TV, DVD, stereo when not in use.
• Use fans in occupied rooms for cooling instead of reverse air-conditioning for the whole house.
Garage
• Set washing machine for cold water washes.
• Hang washing to dry in the sun.
Garden
• Fit security light with CFL light bulb and motion sensor.
• Reduce pool pump operation hours from 10 to 6 a day.
Roof
• Fit insulation to electric geyser and warm water pipes.
• Retrofit 150L electric geyser with solar water heater.
• Set temperature of electric geyser to 55 degrees.

Even though I already do many of the suggested actions, it was still a great exercise to see just how much carbon I am saving each month.

There are many easy ways to save water at home

So give Project 90’s Household Tool a try and you’ll be amazed at the savings you can make. Please let us know what you think of it, we’d love your feedback.

Click here to start.

Once you’ve done this, you can work out your overall carbon footprint on our website: http://www.90×2030.org.za.

Olivia

2 responses to “Project 90 Household Tool helped me save over R1,700 per month

  1. Olivia

    If you invest in a solar oven, you’ll not even have to use your microwave a lot of the time 🙂 I bake bread and biscuits, cook supper, preserve my vegetable harvest, sun-dry tomatoes etc in mine.

    Through investing in solar oven, an “Owl electricity monitor”, and only switching on the geyser for 15 – 20 minutes every morning in order to shower (and then promptly switching off again) and finally by investing in a small 2 plate gas stove, which boils our kettle (numerous times a day as we work from home) and cooks all our meals we have reduced our power consumption by 2/3rds and are currently (even with all the price hikes) spending R450 – 480 / month with Escom. I haven’t used my electric stove in 2 years now, and the 2 plate gas stove consumes 9kgs of gas every 7 – 8 weeks. As many as possible of my kitchen appliances are hand operated – good old-fashioned egg and cream beaters (whisks), coffee and herb grinders, garlic presses and parsley choppers, vegetable peelers, tin openers, etc LOL

    We don’t use / own a tumble dryer, air conditioners, nor electric heaters, and our micro-wave or our alien (black wattle) wood-fired oven heats pearl barley to fill “bean bags” warm up the bed prior to our climbing into them in winter.

    Personal carbon reduction is easily achievable – but you have to be willing to make some changes. We are so used to, and happy with our lower carbon lifestyle that we wouldn’t go back to abusing grid power – ever. It’s just not necessary, especially in South Africa.

    I’m so glad that more and more people are looking at ways to lower their carbon footprint, whilst simultaneously reducing their life-style dependence on, and the financial expense, of grid power.

    Kudo’s to you 🙂

    Dani

  2. Thanks for your comments Dani – you are a true inspiration to us all – I checked out your website: great work! 🙂 I have a hotbox/wonderbag which I use often and that really helps save on gas.

Leave a Reply

